Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 19, 2024, 03:30:10 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: Ceriatone Forums are up and running!!!

Guests please register
Note: If you want to help you can donate to keep the forums alive.

Do you want to advertise on this forum ? Send me a private message.

Amplified Parts
+  Ceriatone Forum
|-+  Muchless
| |-+  DC 30
| | |-+  VVR working real good on the DC30 (layout and photo included)
« previous next »
Pages: [1] 2 Go Down Print
Author Topic: VVR working real good on the DC30 (layout and photo included)  (Read 26607 times)
alwalt

View Profile
« on: December 07, 2009, 05:52:25 PM »

Well, finally we did the instalation of the VVR on the DC30. We did the whole amp scalling.
BTW thanks to all who shared info on this forum about this one! Nik was a lot of help too, as usual!
As a rookie, I needed some help to descipher Dana's installation intructions...
At the end, the instalation seemed simple, but we did not want to blow anything on the way!

This VVR is amazing, I have never had the chance to crank the EF86 channel on band practice. I did all of my gain tones with pedals. Last saturday that I tested it with one band, it really shone! Finally this organic lovely distorted tone without loosing definition at any volume. The amp, is a whole new animal, this works real good if you want to push the amp wihtout blowing your (or your neighbors) ears...
The TopBoost channel did great tones too, thou the difference on volume between the 2 channels was more noticeable when scalled. Great tones too, anyway....

I a/b it with the original MV (we left it there, just in case), and definedly the VVR is a winner when taming the beast without tone lose... the MV, as well known tends to suck bass freqs. The VVR respects the tonal integrity of your sound... even when in minimum (10% of the amps total power). Last night I was practicing at bedroom levels, and it was a great tone.